Saying Good by to a Pair of Good Friends

It is so hard to say good by to an old pair of shoes. Especially when they have been so good to me like my Mizuno Wave Nirvana’s have. I still remeber my first run in them. It was on the Ohio-Erie Canal Towpath. I was in recovery from the Cleveland Marathon but that did not stop me from an early morning 15 mile run. The cushioning was still there and the Tow Path was soft as usual. It was like running on clouds. (without all of that plummeting to your death thing.)
These were the shoes I ran Bermuda in. I started off at the docks and worked my way up to the top of the island. There it was the Atlantic Ocean viewed from all directions. It was breath taking. I wish my sister was not injured so I could have shared it with her but my shoes were there. I proceeded to get lost that day and weave through the neighborhoods and narrow streets till I ended up back at the docks. I also ran by the Bacardi World HQ. It was kind of cool to see it.
I ran through some injuries, a horrible 10 miler and a mediocre 5k.
The miles of training that included the Akron Half Marathon which is possibly the best Half Marathon course for spectators. It finished around the warning track of the Akron Aeros Sadium.
All of that training led to the Marine Corps Marathon which again my pair friends didn’t let me down.
I spent the next three weeks avoinding the inevitable but I purchased a new pair of shoes a pair of Pearl Izumi SyncroGuides. I still owed my Mizuno’s one more week.
That week I ran the Fairmount Park Turkey Trot 5miler for the second straight year. It was a blast and a PR. (See previous blog).
On Saturday I put my last miles on them with a couple of laps around Wentz Run Park in the Philly Area. They still felt good but the cushioning was not what it used to be.
Well, through some good races, a plethora of training runs, some injuries and overheats, and some great moments to share we have had over 550 miles together. It is about time that I say good by and donate you for future use. I am sure that there is some one that doesn’t over pronate like I do that will get many more miles. Like the pairs before you have been replaced but never forgoten.

2 Responses

  1. […] in its prime. Posted on 16 March 08 by rachaelsdaddy It was not that long ago that I said goodbye to my Mizuno’s.  Oh how they ran.   I introduced you all to my new Pearl Izumi’s.  They were […]

    Like

  2. […] a good run. You lasted about as long as a good pair of running shoes and you know how much I get choked up about […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

